Cricket World Cup – 2011


The cricket world cup is an international event. These WC matches are based on men’s One Day International (ODI) cricket matches. WC matches are organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). This tournament is being held after every four years since held the first time in England in 1975. The number of matches and teams are increased than first cricket wc match.

CRICKET WC HISTORY: 9 wc matches have been played till now. There history is as followed.

The FIRST match was played in 1975, hosted by England. West Indies won the first world cup by defeating Australia by 17 runs.

The SECOND match was played in 1979. hosted by England. Again West Indies won the world cup by defeating England by 92 runs.

The THIRD match was held in 1983, hosted by England third time. India won this world cup by defeating West Indies by 43 runs.

The FOURTH was played in 1987, hosted by Pakistan and India. This world cup was won by Australia by defeating England by 7 runs, the closest margin in world cup history.

The FIFTH matches were held in Australia and New Zealand in 1992. Pakistan won by defeating England by 22 runs.

The SIXTH was played in1996, hosted by India and Sri Lenka. And Australia defeated West Indies by 29 runs.

The SEVENTH was played in 1999, hosted by England, Ireland, Scotland, and Netherlands. Australia defeated Pakistan and reached the target in 20 overs.

The EIGHTH was hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya in 2003. Australia won this world cup by defeating India by 125 runs.

The last NINETH was played in 2007, and hosted by West Indies. And Australia defeated sri Lanka by 53 runs.

THE WC 2011:

The TENTH ICC cricket wc is going to held in 2011. This will be played during the months of February and March 2011. The first match will be played on 19th February 2011, and fourteen countries are going to participate this cricket world cup. India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are going to host this world cup tournament. It is first time for Bangladesh to co-host a cricket world cup.

Pakistan was also included in the co-hosting countries, but after the attack on Sri Lanka’s national cricket team in Lahore in 2009, the International Cricket Council (ICC) forced the Pakistan to strip its hosting rights. So Pakistan is not hosting the world cup matches now.

Fourteen matches included one semi final, were supposed to host by Pakistan, are now shifted to other countries. Eight matches of them are shifted to India, four are given to Sri Lanka and two are awarded to Bangladesh. The headquarters of the organizing committee were also in Lahore, which are shifted to Mumbai now.


Cricket match is most exciting entertainment for the people of almost all over the world, and cricket WC has more significance in human life than a cricket match. These cricket matches are very popular among the people of every age children, youngsters, old and even women also show interest in cricket matches.

For most of the people cricket matches have become the matter of life and death. They can’t bear the defeat of their beloved country. Defeat disturbs them not only mentally but also physically. They use to become the patients of high blood pressure and depression.

No doubt both countries want victory, but its impossible. Anyone has to face defeat in every game, and these ups and downs are part of life. If today you have to face defeat then tomorrow you also can prove yourself as winner. And it is one of the best rules of happy life to face the hard realities of life courageously and open heartedly.


Source by Umar Awais

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

0 3 0 1 7 8 6 3 6 3 2
Scroll to Top